Back to search
  • online
  • FREE

SciVR livestream

  • -

NOTE: This event involves participation at home with a smartphone or another device that can connect to the internet.

SciVR will take you on the hunt for things that go boom. We’ll explore the universe and origins of explosions in space, tracking events as they happen with Prof Alan Duffy and Dr Rebecca Allen – astronomers and science communicators at Swinburne University of Technology. New content this year includes the Mars rover Perseverance and helicopter Ingenuity.

Check www.scivr.com.au to see if there is a viewing party at a library or science centre near you – they are giving out mini VR headsets to clip onto your phone. If you can't get a VR headset, you can use the app in non-VR mode. Download the free SciVR app any time at www.scivr.com.au

Discover and explore extreme and advanced space science and the research that fuels it.  Watch the live stream, listen to Alan and Rebecca, and send in your questions to be answered LIVE.

Before the live stream - Please download the SciVR app to your smartphone or tablet, and make sure it is fully charged as we will be using the app for a full hour of the presentation. You need one smartphone/tablet and one device connected to the internet that can access YouTube videos.

11am AEST (9am AWST, 10:30am ACST) - On your computer/laptop/mobile device go to scivr.com.au and click the link for the online streaming talk. Alan and Rebecca start the guided tour, and you can send in your questions via YouTube, or on Twitter with #AskSciVR.

We acknowledge Indigenous astronomy to help audiences appreciate the discoveries our ancestors made over thousands of years. This program is supported by the ARC Centre of Excellence for Gravitational Wave Discovery (OzGrav), and Swinburne University of Technology.